3am Thoughts

So I went to sleep early last night due to a headache, and ended up waking up at about 3am. My body felt rested, yet my mind was active. Upon waking I had a few thoughts/convictions that I wrestled with and decided to jot down:

  • The potential to applaud my own wisdom and understanding and overlook the Holy Spirit’s role in guiding me into truth. This slowly creates in me a subtle pride about my own intelligence, rather than giving thanks to the Holy Spirit.
  • The potential for me to idolize the physical shell of the bible – rather than seek wisdom and guidance from the God-breathed contents within it. Sort of like when people swear an oath over a bible without having ever read it, and convincing themselves that the act of simply placing their hand on it will miraculously make them an honest/moral person.
  • The potential to misappropriate the act of reading scripture as a sign of salvation,  rather than faith and trust in Jesus Christ. “You study the scriptures diligently because you think that in them you have eternal life. These are the very Scriptures that testify about me, yet you refuse to come to me to have life” (John 5:39-40).
  • The potential for me to idolize a saint, such as Paul, when reading his letters, instead of focusing on who is he speaking of.  This could eventually lead me back to saint worship, if not careful.
  • The potential for me to put off prayer due to an assumption that God can’t hear my pleas, or the fear that we will answer my prayers in a way that would challenge me beyond what I am capable of doing.
  • The potential for me to worship the emotional highs and dopamine rushes from charismatic ‘christian music’, and equate my level of elation with His level of presence, or involvement in my life. This can also lead  me  to dangerously oversimplify and equate the Holy Spirit as positive feelings, and overlook its true roles, which are not necessarily ‘feel good’ things, like conviction of sin, or its transformative work to make us more like Christ.
Leave a Reply

