Street Evangelism mini Story

So it’s been awhile since I’ve shared my street evangelism encounters and stories on here. Time for some updates. Since I’ve been out several times since my last post, and there is lots to share, I will condense my experiences into mini stories in no apparent order.

Encounter #1

One day when I was prepping my heart to share the gospel, I read the first chapter of Isaiah that really moved me (emphasis mine):

Hear, O heavens, and give ear, O earth!

For the Lord has spoken:
“I have nourished and brought up children,
And they have rebelled against Me;
The ox knows its owner
And the donkey its master’s crib;
But Israel does not know,
My people do not consider.”

Isaiah 1:1-3

As a new parent, I felt like I understood these verses on a deeper level than before. I could empathize as a parent about what it is like to nourish and bring up a child –even with my limited experience so far, and I could imagine the heartbreak of rebellion.

Then I read further on about the LORD’s loving call to restoration, despite Israel.

“Come now, and let us reason together,”
Says the Lord,
“Though your sins are like scarlet,
They shall be as white as snow;
Though they are red like crimson,
They shall be as wool.

Isaiah 1:18

Despite the fact that Israel was corrupt, and full of iniquity (immoral behaviour), The LORD extends an offer of mercy to them. The love of the LORD is so great!

But when I went out that evening, I had a very challenging encounter with a man. A man approached my husband and I and started yelling and violently waving his arms in our faces making false accusations and mocking the Lord:

“Yscreen-shot-2012-07-01-at-8-13-28-amou hate homosexuals!!!”

“Where is your God/Jesus?!!! I don’t see him anywhere!”

“God where are you?!!”

“you guys need to go home and stop what you are doing!”

His eyes were very intense. We get heckled quite a bit, and get lots of dirty looks, but I had never seen such a intense frenzied look before!

I will admit that I was silenced out of fear, but my husband was not. He calmly told him to calm down, and to not yell at us. This suggestion was not taken, and the man continued to yell at us. When he eventually left us, it was only brief as he literally came charging down the street at us I’d say 5-10 mins later. I was very frightened that he was going to take a swing at us. I took a few steps back, and my husband continued to engage with Him. I eventually convinced my husband that the conversation would be fruitless as we could not get a word in edgewise.

While he was doing this a crowd of people stopped in their tracks to witness the huge scene that was taking place. Some recorded with their phones-though I wish they would come to our aid instead of just recording it.

But despite this, I felt a small sense of peace that God would have some glory. The glory not in our evangelism attempt, which seemed like a failure outwardly, but in that His name was being shouted, despite how it was being shouted. And in a way, his mockery of God was so outrageous, that it might have convicted or convinced others just how outrageous it looks to mock God, no matter what the decibel level!

So, to return to the beginning of this night, I found it strange in hindsight, how whenever I feel most equipped with the filling of the Holy Spirit, and reassurance from His Word, I nearly always have an intense experience on the streets with the Gospel!

One thought on “Street Evangelism mini Story

  1. I too am a street minister. This maybe very unusual, I know, but I hope you find it to be a blessing. If so, please pass it on. Also, I have many more offerings of similar kind. On the other hand, if it does not bless you, at least I will not do this to your blog anymore…

    Thanx

    Agent X
    Fat Beggars School of Prophets
    Lubbock, Texas (USA)

    https://fatbeggars.wordpress.com/2016/02/16/the-vandelia-i-love-vignette-3/

    https://fatbeggars.wordpress.com/2016/02/20/the-vandelia-i-love-vignette-4/

    Like

Leave a Reply

